College of Medicine, Unilag gets new provost by Kemisola Agoyi


The latter days of last year was a politically eventful period in the College of Medicine, University of Lagos (CMUL) as it was the election, appointment and handing over of the provost and some other key officials in the college.

Election for the various posts among the college staffs including the position of the provost was held on the 3rd of November, 2016, following the manifesto which was on the previous Wednesday. Professor Foluso Ebun Afolabi Lesi (Former Dean of the Faculty of Clinical Science, CMUL and a renowned Paediatric Consultant) emerged winner after the results of 177 votes against 70 votes for his opponent, Professor Okanlawon (Former Deputy Provost of the College).

Professor Folashade T. Ogunshola (Former Provost) handed over fully to Professor F. E. A. Lesi at resumption after the college’s 2 weeks’ vacation, at the very beginning of the new year, after her successful and remarkable 2 years tenure of been the first female provost in the history of the College.

The office of the Dean of Student Affairs was  retained by Professor F. T. Akinsola, who was the DSA during the last tenure and also the Assistant Chief Executive Officer – Mr Adesanya – still maintained his position. Other elected posts include, the Deputy Provost – Professor Akinbo (former HOD of Physiotherapy Department) who ran unopposed, Professor Akinyemi (Former HOD of Psychiatry department) as the Dean, Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Professor Magbagbeola of Biochemistry Department as the Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, CMUL among others.

  • Students, Academic and the non-academic staffs in the college has since wished the new tenure success in all their endeavours and hope that their actions and decisions favours all.



Leave A Reply