Prof. Akinfeleye, Otufodunrin, others honoured at the 5th Ngozi Agbo Media Lecture by Adedayo Moshood


The Press Club, University of Lagos honoured Professor. Ralph Akinfeleye, Mr .Sam Omatseye, Hon. Abike Dabiri-Erewa and Mr Lekan Otufodunrin at the 5th Ngozi Agbo memorial Media Lecture with the “Fourth Estate Excellence Awards” for their contribution towards the development of campus Journalism and Journalism in Nigeria.

The media lecture  is an annual event of The Press Club, Unilag to  honour and foster the legacy of the late Mrs. Ngozi Agbo, the pioneer editor of CampusLife-The Nations Newspaper. The lecture  also featured essay competition, prize giving and a debate session.

The guest speaker, award winning Journalist-Pelu Awofeso while speaking on the theme of this year Ngozi Agbo media lecture- Social Media Campaign: A tool for Activism and Citizen Journalism, he advised taking up activism, using social media for social good. He further supported the argument with inspiring examples from Kenya and Nigeria.

Mr. Lekan Otufodunrin, online editor- The Nations Newspaper and patron of the Club laid emphasis on the place of ethics in Journalism which does not exclude the social media, Professor Ralph Akinfeleye in his charge reiterate the need to stand firm as the fourth estate of the realm and not the fourth estate of the wreck.

Joy-Rita Mogbogu (Mrs), the staff adviser of the club while giving her speech maintained  that the organization will continue to live up to her responsibility as a campus Journalism Organisation and will continue to foster the legacy of Mrs. Ngozi Agbo and continue to shun out efficient journalist.

Leave A Reply