UNILAG Governing Council Shortlists 7 Professors For VC Post


The Governing Council of the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Akoka has selected seven finalists for the position of vice-chancellor at the university.

Before the application deadline in June, eight academics filed their applications.

However, the committee picked seven finalists last week.

The seven applicants were all professors at the university from the faculties of management sciences, arts, law, sciences, and the college of medicine according to research by the PREMIUM TIMES.

The candidates who stated their interest were Folasade Ogunsola of the College of Medicine; Abayomi Akinyeye of the Faculty of Art, Imran Smith of the Faculty of Law; and Ayo Olowe of the Faculty of Management Sciences.

Other contenders include Timothy Nubi from the Faculty of Environmental Sciences, Mathew Ilori and Adeyinka Adekunle both from the Faculty of Sciences.

Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, the 12th occupant of the office of the Vice Chancellor, is slated to leave on November 11 after serving the akokites’ community for five years.

On Monday, 25, October 2022, at the university’s medical college in Idi-Araba, Lagos, as part of an occasion to mark the university’s 60th anniversary, Pro-chancellor and Chairman of the University’s Governing Council, Lanre Tejuoso assured that democracy and transparency will be brought into play during the selection of the institution’s 13th vice-chancellor.

“The process has started and I introduced democracy. When we went for a council meeting they did not expect that I would bring ballot papers,” the Pro-Chancellor said.

He said that neither his alliances nor the friends of the departing VC were involved in the selection of the shortlist’s selection criteria. “Everybody picked their own ballot paper and those who became members were chosen by God.”

Whoever emerges as the new vice chancellor of UNILAG is of God’s will, according to him, since “the procedure will be transparent.”

The 13th vice-chancellor of the University of Lagos will be named and announced by the Governing Council on Friday.

Comments are closed.